top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejhatfieldauthor

The end of September Already

Hello

This month has flown right by. I can't believe tomorrow is October 1.

What have I been doing these past two weeks?

I have been clearing up the yard and front porch in preparation for winter.

I have been reading a book published by Eerie River, titled After. It is a compilation of novelettes about post-apocalyptic life. There are 8 different ones in this compilation. When it is finished I will be putting my review up on my website.


I have been working on a writing project as well. I have a goal of six thousand word. If I succeed, it will be the longest story written to date. It is something that I was invited to participate in and I am very excited about it. I will tell you more when the time comes.


I have also been watching way more news than I would like. But, with everything going on in the country as of the past two months, I want to stay informed.


So this month I am going to share with you my Furious Fiction Entry for May. Here was the criteria:

  • Your story had to be set during a storm.

  • Your story had to include the words MOTHER, APPLE, YESTERDAY

  • Your story had to include the phrase: SIT/SITTING ON THE FENCE



Max and Jez


Max and Jez spent a lot of time together yesterday. They hadn’t been getting alone time; they took advantage of every chance they got. While the two of them were sitting on the fence at the back of the property, they noticed dark clouds moving in fast.

By the time they made it across the field, the rain poured from the clouds. Lightning strikes and booming thunder followed along with precision timing.

They reached the barn and stood just inside, watching the storm rage with driving rain. Jez glanced at her watch, a flash of disappointment crossed her face. “Oh, it’s getting to be that time again.”

“What time is it?” Max inquired with obvious concern.

“Time for my mother to call me to see what I’m doing and what time I will be home.”

As if on cue, her telephone rang. The song “Crazy Bitch,” played loud. She smiled at Max and answered the phone, “Hi Mom, I’m fine. I’m still at the barn… I don’t know what time I will be home… Eat dinner without me. Save me a slice of that apple pie, you know how much I love apple pie...Love you too.”

She set the phone back in her jacket and rolled her eyes when she looked up at Max, “UGH parents, I swear she still thinks I’m 12.”

“How far off is that?” Max asked with a smirk on his face, she immediately knew he was joking.

She slapped his arm and answered, “If I’m with you, then it can’t be too far off.” They both laughed and watched the rest of the storm blow over until the last few minutes of sunlight arrived with a beautiful, brightly-colored rainbow that appeared to be right over where Max and Jez had been standing by the fence.

Max took Jez by the hand and walked over to her car, a 4-door Oldsmobile Omega. “Sweetie, I’ve never asked. Did you buy your own car, or was it a gift from your parents?”

“My parents gave it to me for my 16th birthday. Why?”

“Do they hate you?” He teased.

“Sometimes, I think I teeter on that fine line between love and hate.” Her voice became sterner, “Why do you ask?”

“If I had a daughter and she just turned 16, I would not be buying her one of these. I would buy her a small pick up truck like an S10 or even a T100, but NOT this.” Pointing at the car to emphasize his opinion.

She grinned up at him, wrapping her arms around his waist. “Well when we have kids, I will remind you that you said that.”

He slid his finger under her chin, lifting it up, and kissed her hard on the mouth. He broke the kiss long enough to say, “You won’t need to.”

Credit for the song Crazy Bitch belongs to Buck Cherry.








9 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page