top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejhatfieldauthor

The end of June already.

It has been a very busy month for me. Reading work by my peers, writing reviews, keeping up with my own writing, and my classwork have ALL helped this month FLY by.


I had the opportunity to read a new release called "The Creeping Void" by Tim Mendees, published by Eerie River Publishing. My review can be found on my website with a link to purchase. If you like Lovecraftian horror, this is a book for you.


I have also had the pleasure of reading a book by E.L. Giles. The title is Six Days to Hell and if I could give this book 6 stars I would. I encourage you to purchase this book. It is available starting today. My review can be found on that page of my website with a link to purchase.


Believe it or not, I also read another book these past two weeks. Death House Mortem Cycle and its review can also be found on the website and a link to the electronic copy to purchase.


I've been working diligently on my copy editing class. I have already noticed that I am scrutinizing things a little more than I did before my class started, which is exactly what a copy editor is supposed to do.


My next task over the next couple of weeks will include:

  • #furiousfiction this coming weekend,

  • if I make into the next round of the fiction marathon I will have that to write,

  • I have two books by David Green to read and review and they need my undivided attention. I love his character Nick Holleran and the world he has created for him.


I leave you all this time with a piece of writing that was my March Furious Fiction entry. Here are the requirements:




Each story had to include the pictured setting (above) at some point.

  • Each story had to include the following “MAR-” words: MARKET, MARBLE, MARVELLOUS, MARSHMALLOW.

  • Each story’s final sentence had to contain dialogue – i.e. someone speaking.


Jamie had lived on the bay coast nearly all his life. The backwoods provided the area with more food than he could eat. He rarely went the 600 miles into town. When he did, he was prepared with furs and pelts, fish and red meat.

He would select those pieces and try to peddle them alone first. What he wasn’t able to sell privately, he would take to the market in township. After all of his goods were sold, he would purchase whatever items he needed back at his cabin. Each shopping excursion had but one vice, he always bought himself bags of marshmallows, he cooked them on his open fire once or twice a week.

Each trip Jamie stopped to talk to a marvellous woman he had known since they were children. “Ellie, I know I urge you every year and I will continue to call for you until you turn me down cold. Would you want to go with me this winter?”

This year, her answer shocked him. “Would you choose to come back here in seven days and check then?”

“Seven days? Why seven?”

“Every year you ask me. Every year I say, not this time. Every year you leave and I kick myself a few days later for not going with you. So call for me again in a week.”

“I will return in seven days.”

Jamie hung his head a bit as he walked to the shoreline to climb into his boat. While he headed across the bay, he looked behind him, as he always did, staring at the telephone booth until he could no longer make out the red coloring. With determination, he prepared his home for the possibility of Ellie coming to stay with him. He cleaned his hut, finally installed the marble countertop he had been saving, even laid the linoleum down on the plywood floor.

In fact, anything that he had been putting off doing because it was just him living there, he finished during those seven days. The cabin looked more like a home than a shack when his work was complete.

At the end of the week, he made his way across the bay towards the boat landing, focusing on the red frame of the phone booth. Much to his surprise, Ellie was waiting at the coastline for him. She sat there staring out toward the water. Her luggage was there standing by with her. When he docked his schooner, she went rushing down the dock to greet him. She gave him a hug and said it had worried her to think he might not come back for her.

He placed his hand under her chin and tipped her face up to look at him. “I’ve waited all this time. Did you really believe I would not show? The grim reaper couldn’t have kept me away.”






8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page