top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejhatfieldauthor

My May Flowers


This month has certainly flown by. What have I done? Well let's see. I have completed my May entry for Furious Fiction. #furiousfiction. Next weekend is the weekend for June's entry.


Some of us are not only doing the Furious Fiction entries, we are also participating in a separate Fiction Marathon. 30 people started in this writing marathon. You can take this ride with me, I will be updating you all along the way.


We get a prompt, word count, and a deadline. Rules are easy don't tell anyone ahead of time anything about it. Must be written just for this instance.

As the weeks progress some of us will be knocked off the list.


So, here was the assignment for the first round.


Write an original pickup line.

Only ONE sentence

Specific requirements:

Definition of pickup line by the Urban Dictionary - A pick-up line is a conversation opener with the intent of engaging an unfamiliar person for sex, romance, or dating.


no dialogue, only the one sentence.


your sentence is between 20-50 words. No less, no more.


give your sentence a title of maximum 2 words


Here is my entry


Seeing You


When I look at you it makes me feel like I am under a ceiling fan with flashing lights and it leaves me speechless, trembling like a seizure patient.


What people, who don't have a seizure disorder, also don't realize is that ceiling fans and flashing lights can induce a euphoric light headed feeling, sometimes good and sometimes bad; the inability to speak follows along and even when I am not actively seizing...I tremble sometimes. So what is something that I could equate with a pick up line, it wasn't how the jury viewed it. OH well, I didn't get kicked out and my line was in the top 70% after the jury voted, the public voted and I came in 16th. Overall, I placed 20th out of 30. I was still barely out of the top 2/3's of the group, so I am happy. I struggled with this one. Here is the link if you would like to read the other entries.


WHAT ELSE IS IN STORE FOR THE UPCOMING MONTHS?

On June 3, 2021 I begin down a new pathway. I was given the opportunity to take a certification class on copyediting. I will be working on that, along with my writing.


TODAY THE VOTING FOR ROUND 2 WENT LIVE FOR THE FICTION MARATHON.

CHECK IT OUT AND CAST YOUR VOTES




10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page