top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejhatfieldauthor

February Furious Fiction Entry



Just to go over the rules again. 55 hours to write 500 words involving the following items.

  • Each story had to be set in a SCHOOL.

  • Each story had to begin with the word THREE.

  • Each story had to include the adjectives: MAGNETIC, UNCOUTH, SUSPICIOUS, FLOWERY

Three days ago this started. Feels like weeks.

Did you ever walk into your school and feel like everyone was watching you, staring, and making up their own mind about what has happened; based on what someone else was suspicious about?

That has been happening to me. My best friend’s flowery personality was gone. Her ordinarily magnetic disposition is beautiful, until she is pissed off.

When she walked up to me with a gang of girls in tow, I braced myself for any possibility. Whenever she has a crowd backing her, the person on the receiving end of her wrath takes it pretty hard. I turned and said, “Hi Stacey. What’s up?”

“Did you sleep with my brother?”

Oh, is that all? I thought.

“No, we didn’t sleep. Why? What’s it to you?”

Her bright blue eyes got huge, veins popped from her neck while her face reddened. She screeched, “He’s my freaking brother!!”

“Yes, and he’s an older brother, so I didn’t corrupt him, more like the other way around. If you want to bitch, go to him.”

“I’m coming to you so I can tell you to knock it off. I don’t want to have to tell my Dad.”

I rolled my eyes as I responded. “Tell him if it will make you feel better. I will stop when Thomas wants to stop, and not one minute sooner. If you feel the need to run to Daddy, go. I promise you one thing though.”

“What?”

“I promise you that if you are going to be so uncouth as that, I will be certain to share secrets that you have. Maybe we should start talking about…”

Stacey quickly interjected, “No, that’s okay.” Her face flooded with embarrassment, standing in front of her self-assembled crowd. She continued “I won’t say anything to Dad. But we need to talk later.”

Stacey and her gang headed to class. I turned and walked to the telephone. Thomas needed to know that she knew.

“Hello.”

“Stacey just confronted me. She knows and she threatened to go to your Dad.”

“What did you say to her?”

“Well, since we’ve been friends since the second grade, I couldn’t lie to her, so I didn’t deny it.”

“Great, just f***ing great. Couldn’t keep your mouth shut.”

“Obviously neither could you, or she wouldn’t have confronted me. So who did you tell? How many people know aside from ⅓ of the school now?”

There was silence on the other end of the line.

“Im waiting,” I snapped.

“I told Dan.”

“Well congratulations, you chose wrong. I told NO ONE. Now you can clean up this mess.”

“I’ll pick you up after school we’ll talk.”

“No, you won’t. I’ll get a ride.”

“I said I will pick you up.”

“I said NO YOU WON’T.” Slamming the pay phone receiver down, I turned toward the front doors and left for the rest of the day.

Maybe tomorrow would be better.



A few months ago, I wrote a story for a book called Candy Capers, the story was not accepted but I had promised to share the link with people for the book, because the proceeds are all being donated to THE BRAIN TUMOR CHARITY



I know some of the authors in here and I am proud to help support them, and this awesome charity.















2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page