top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejhatfieldauthor

California Here I am

I flew out here the day before yesterday. After a very long night from New Hampshire to Chicago and then Chicago to Los Angeles, I slept for about twelve hours.


My son is getting married, today, and that is the reason I am all the way across the US.


My class is going great, I am really learning a lot that has proven to be helpful in my own writing and with helping proofread, critique, and edit for friends. There are only two weeks left.


I am still participating in the Fiction Marathon, although I am not holding my breath that I will move on to the next round. This past round there were 15 participants at the end of the round. This next one will be brought down to 10. Honestly, I have not placed very high in the previous rounds, so I am expecting to be eliminated. I learned a long time ago that it is so much easier if you "expect the worst, hope for the

best—you'll never be disappointed that way."



The first weekend of the month I will be participating in the #furiousfiction again. Every month during the first full weekend of the month, I follow the prompt and write about one thousand words in fifty-five hours. I decided in January of this year that I would participate every month. That was my goal for this year.


WHAT AM I READING?

To Be a Dark Mother, published by Mannison Press. A shared world with the following authors: Ronald Linson, Deidre J Owen, Benjamin Michael Greene, Tim Mendees,

and E L Giles. The stories in this collection contain cosmic horror-style violence, gore, murder, strong language, and implied sexual assault. Discretion is advised.


NEXT IN LINE?

The Girl Who Hated Shakespeare, a story by Tim Mendees. A short story that I honestly know nothing about, but I really like the author, so Im going to read the book.


LASTLY,

I was invited to take part in a story that I will tell you a little bit more about next time. Until then have a great beginning of August.



5 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page